out of two defeats, arrest creates history

AMARAVATI: On September 9, 2023, Andhra Pradesh Crime Investigation Department (CID) arrested TDP chief Nara Chandrababu Naidu in the AP Skill Development Scam case and was sent to jail in Rajamahendravaram Central Jail.

The arrest and confinement in the jail barracks was the second lowest the former chief minister faced after the humiliating defeat at the hands of YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, the son of his friend turned arch-rival YS Rajasekhara Reddy .

Power is not new to Naidu as he is the longest serving CM of Andhra Pradesh. He was the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh from 1995 to 2004 and again in 2014 to 2019. He is the Leader of the Opposition in the current Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly. Naidu also held the role of Chairman of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) for the 1999 general elections.

N Chandrababu Naidu was born on April 20, 1950 in an agricultural family in Naravaripalle in Chittoor district. His father Kharjura Naidu was a farmer and his mother Ammanamma was a housewife.

After primary education in Narivaripalle, Naidu went to Chandragiri Government High School and completed SSC. He studied BA in 1972 from Sri Venkateshwara Arts College, Tirupati. He obtained his master’s degree in economics from Sri Venkateswara University. He enrolled for a doctorate in economics at the same university, but his penchant for politics forced him to pursue a career in that direction.

In 1970 he became chairman of the student association at SV University. He later became a member of the Youth Congress. He was a strong supporter of Sanjay Gandhi and subsequently switched to the Telugu Desam Party founded by NT Rama Rao. He later married NTR’s daughter Bhuvaneswari.

He was first elected to the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly in 1978 and became a minister in NTR’s cabinet. In 1995, after the so-called August Crisis, he overthrew NTR and became the CM.

Naidu encouraged information technology (IT) and in 2003 he was appointed chairman of the National Task Force on Micro-irrigation under the Ministry of Agriculture. He was re-elected as Chief Minister in 1999 and served until 2004.

In 2014, after the state was bifurcated into AP, Telangana became chief minister of the remaining state. However, in 2019, he suffered a humiliating defeat to YS Jagan.